Ciheam Ministerial Meetings 

The CIHEAM organised the first agriculture ministerial meeting of its thirteen member countries in 1999. The aim was to establish a sustainable dialogue between Mediterranean countries on agricultural and rural issues and foster a common approach to them. These biennial ministerial meetings provide space for discussion on agricultural, food and rural issues in the Mediterranean. Their strategic dimension is enhanced by the participation of major international organisations active in the region.

Ministerial Meeting 2016 

The 11th meeting of the Ministers of Agriculture of the CIHEAM member States took place in Tirana (Albania) on the 22 of September 2016. The meeting enabled:

- Discussions on migration from the point of view of agricultural development and food security. Faced with the current refugee crisis, root causes of migration and future trends must be considered in order to identify possible solutions in the field of agriculture, rural development and food security in the Mediterranean. 

- The presentation of the CIHEAM Strategic Agenda 2025, structured around 4 pillars, divided into 15 thematic priorities.This Agenda aims to prioritise the CIHEAM activities to better address the current regional challenges, to promote the Mediterranean dimension of the Post-2015 Global Agenda, to mobilise additional funding sources, to enhance cooperation and to strenghten institutional synergies.

Press release


Read the Keynote related to the CIHEAM Ministerial Meeting 2016

This keynote is intended to take stock of the major challenges generated by migration in the Mediterranean from the agricultural and rural perspective but also to present the CIHEAM Strategic Agenda 2025 and the Tirana declaration.


Previous CIHEAM Ministerial Meetings​

2014 - Algiers, Algeria (Sustainable food security and prospects for the future)

2012 - Valetta, Malta (Food security and price volatility in the Mediterranean countries)

2010 - Istanbul, Turkey (Climate Change and Adaptation)

2008 - Zaragoza, Spain (Management of fisheries and water resources)

2006 - Cairo, Egypt

2004 - Paris, France

2002 - Beirut, Lebanon

2001 - Athens, Greece

2000 - Rabat, Morocco

1999 - Rome, Italy